Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority Cuyahoga Metropolitan Housing Authority - Enriching Lives in the Community for 80 Years

Facebook icon

Twitter logo

LinkedIn logo

Instagram logo

YouTube logo

Follow us

Doing Business with CMHA


Top 20 Organization in Northeast Ohio


  • CMHA has been recognized as one of the top 20 organizations in Northeast Ohio for its progress in creating, enhancing, and sustaining diversity and inclusion strategies.

Department Navigation

Printer icon

Economic and Business Development (MBE/FBE/Section3)

Minority & Female Business Enterprise

CMHA is committed to making procurement and contracting opportunities available to Minority and Female Business Enterprises (MBE/FBE) without discrimination. Businesses awarded contracts by CMHA are required to meet the Authority’s inclusion goals, which state that 20% of the work must be completed by a certified MBE, and 10% of the work must be completed by a certified FBE. Businesses with minorities or females having at least 51% ownership are eligible to be certified. Please use the online search tool to view CMHA's certified MBE/FBE businesses.


Section 3 Program

Formally adopted by the CMHA Board of Commissioners in 2007, the Section 3 program is meant to foster local economic development, neighborhood economic improvement, and individual self-sufficiency. The Section 3 program allows for CMHA to provide job training, employment, and contract opportunities for low- or very-low income residents in connection with projects and activities in their neighborhoods.


CMHA’s Inclusion staff addresses the needs of certified businesses by identifying contracting and purchasing opportunities, identifying financial resources, providing support, technical assistance and general information.  Businesses awarded contracts by CMHA must give preference in subcontracting at least 10% of the work to certified Section 3 businesses. 


There is an agreement between CMHA, Cuyahoga County and the City of Cleveland for Section 3 certification.  If your business is certified by any one of these organizations, your business will be listed as Section 3 certified with the other two. Please use the online search tool to view CMHA's certified Section 3 businesses.


Helpful links: